AMRUT Mission Overview

The Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) was launched on 25 June, 2015. The objectives of the mission are to:

  1. Ensure that every household has access to a tap with assured supply of water and a sewerage connection.
  2. Increase the amenity value of cities by developing greenery and well maintained open spaces (e.g. parks).
  3. Reduce pollution by switching to public transport or constructing facilities for non-motorized transport (e.g. walking and cycling).

The Mission will be implemented in 9 cities and towns of Odisha, i.e. Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Berhampur, Sambalpur, Rourkela, Puri, Balasore, Baripada and Bhadrak.

Central assistance will be to the extent of 50 per cent of project cost for cities and towns with a population of up to 10 lakh. Central assistance will be released in three instalments in the ratio of 20:40:40 based on achievement of milestones indicated in the State Annual Action Plans.

Funding of AMRUT projects to ULBs through the State are provided on the basis of proposals submitted in State Annual Action Plan (SAAP), which is an aggregated State level Service Improvement Plan (SLIP) indicating year-wise improvement of municipal services in admissible sectors to households in the nine towns of Odisha. SLIPs prepared by the ULBs serve as the building block for development of year-wise prioritised investment in SAAP to address gaps in service levels.

In this context, the State Annual Action Plan (SAAP) for the year of the mission (FY 2015-16 & 2016-17), has been already prepared and approved by Ministry of Urban Development, Government of India which adheres to the principle of moving toward universal coverage of water supply and sewerage /septage management as a priority as mentioned in the Mission Statement and Guidelines circulated by the MoUD, Govt. of India. The State has identified and prioritized projects within the framework of AMRUT, based on gap analysis, implementation advantage like, land, clearances etc., spending capacity of the service provider and the like. While prioritizing projects, universal coverage of water supply and sewerage has been given top priority. In all the towns, water supply and sewerage service levels are low; in all these towns, both water supply and sewerage projects are considered separately and simultaneously.

Adequate consultations have been made by the respective Urban Local Bodies at the City level with the citizens and people’s representatives while preparing the Service Level Improvement Plans (SLIPs) based on which the draft State Annual Action Plan (SAAP) is being prepared at the state level. The SAAP prepared were presented today before the MPs, MLAs and Mayors/Chairpersons of all AMRUT cities/towns as part of the consultation process.

AMRUT Guidelines

  1. Balasore
  2. Baripada
  3. Berhampur
  4. Bhadrak
  5. Bhubaneswar
  6. Cuttack
  7. Puri
  8. Rourkela
  9. Sambalpur
Minutes of the Meeting
Website is hosted by National Informatics Centre,
Contents on this website is published and managed by Department of Housing & Urban Development,
Govt. of Odisha.Design & Developed by OSUIP-TAST

This site is best viewed and compatible with Internet Explorer 8.0 or higher versions.

No. of Visitors: 3732

Website last updated on: 03/11/2022